Minutes of the Gordano District Annual General Meeting

Held on Tuesday 11 July 2023 @ 19.45 hrs.

At Glenny Wood Lodge.

Present:

Tony Tween, Stephen Hamey, Susan Ivens, Richard Ivens, Simon Kelly, Michael Clark, Nicole Jelliss, Ellie Jelliss, Olivia Handley, Hayley White, Phil Savage, Laura Hinton, Carla Welsh, Robin MacIntosh, Matt Jaroszewicz. Also attending Katie Cliffe, Doug Hinton, Joseph Welsh – Avon WSJ contingent members

Presentation by WSJ Contingent members:

Before the start of the formal business, 3 Explorer Scouts from Barracuda and Kilkenny ESUs, who are the District representatives in the Avon County contingent for WSJ 25 in South Korea, gave a presentation of the activities and fundraising they had been involved in during the preparation for the jamboree and what these have taught them. They also outlined their hopes and expectations of the jamboree itself.

1) Welcome:

Tony Tween (Co-DC) opened the meeting and welcomed all those attending.

The meeting observed a minute's reflection in memory of those Scouting colleagues, Haydn Hibbard, Ann Scott, and Josie Williams, who sadly passed away in the last year.

2) Apologies:

Ann Parker, Phil Woolcock, Stephen Lisney, Jill Hobbs May Bjergfelt (WSJ contingent member)

3) Approval the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 12 July 2022

The minutes were unanimously accepted by the meeting and there were no matters arising.

4) Governance Topics:

a) Adoption of model constitution from Policy, Organisation and Rules Chapter 5:

Steve Hamey (Co-DC) proposed the adoption of the model constitution. Richard lvens seconded the proposal. The meeting passed the resolution unanimously.

b) Note of the District's financial year:

The meeting was informed that the charity's financial year is 1st January to 31st December.

c) Agree the number of members that may be elected to the Trustee Board:

Steve Hamey (Co-DC) proposed that the number of people that can be elected to the Trustee Board should be four. The proposal was seconded by Simon Kelly and passed unanimously by the meeting.

d) Agree the quorum for each of the District Scout Council, meetings of the Trustee Board, meetings of any sub-committees:

Steve Hamey proposed that the quorum, the minimum number of District Scout Council members that must be present at a meeting of the District Scout Council, should be set at 15.

The proposal was seconded by Robin MacIntosh and agreed unanimously by the meeting.

Steve Hamey proposed that the quorum for meetings of the Trustee Board and any sub-committees should be set at one third of the Trustee Board members plus one, in line with the Charity Commission statement of good practice.

The proposal was seconded by Richard Ivens and passed unanimously by the meeting.

5) Review of the previous year:

a) District Commissioner's Review of Scouting in the District:

The full text of the report was available in the District Annual Report, which was available at the meeting. Tony Tween (Co-DC) expanded on various elements of his report and presented Robin MacIntosh with the Award of Merit. He also presented Joseph Welsh with the Chief Scout Platinum award.

b) To receive and consider the Annual Report of the Trustee Board including the Statement of Accounts:

Steve Hamey (Co-DC) noted that the District Trustee Board had approved the Annual Report and Statement of Accounts and the report on the accounts had been received from Lynette Morgan FCCA CTA, the Independent Examiner.

Phil Savage (the District Treasurer) explained the Statement of Accounts. There were no questions raised and Phil was thanked by Steve Hamey.

6) Making Appointments

a) Nomination of District Chair:

The meeting was informed that, currently, it is not possible to nominate a District Chair. Every effort will be made to resolve the issue as soon as possible.

b) Election of the District Secretary:

No-one has been proposed for this role. Again, every effort will be made to resolve the issue shortly.

c) Election of the District Treasurer:

Phil Savage has been formally proposed and seconded. The meeting approved Phil Savage's election unanimously.

d) Election of persons to the District Trustee Board:

The following have been proposed and seconded.

Phil Woolcock.

The meeting approved the election.

There are no nominations for persons to be on the Trustee Board.

The outgoing Trustees, Owain Thomas and David Grace were thanked for their work during the past year.

e) Appointment of the Independent Examiner:

Phil Savage proposed that Lynette Morgan be appointed. The proposal was seconded by Tony Tween and the meeting approved the nomination unanimously.

f) Nomination of representatives to the Avon Scout Council:

Two nominations can be made but, currently, it is not possible to make any nominations.

7) Closing Remarks:

Tony Tween noted that both he and Steve Hamey will be stepping down from their Co-DC roles, but there is currently no replacement in the pipeline and with the forthcoming transition process for Scouting being imminent, the exact date of their retirement is not known. They will continue to work with the existing District Team and the Trustee Board to ensure that the transition to the new processes will be a smooth as possible.

Richard Ivens thanked Tony and Steve for their efforts over the last 10 years.

The meeting closed at 20.50 hrs.